School Council & Team Safe

Following our questionnaires to our parents and carers about keeping our children safe, we decided to create a Safeguarding Team in school.  The Chair and Vice Chair of the School Council held interviews last week in school.  The children selected will lead assemblies in school and work with Mrs Cowan and Miss Azzopardi to help keep children safe in school and in the local community. They will be wearing special purple star badges so that children can find them around school. We will keep you updated with work that they do for us in school!  


Team Safe

Team safe with 'Buddy' the speech bubble following our 'Speak out, Stay safe' assemblies with the NSPCC on 17/05/16.


School Council

The children in our school are at the heart of our school community. As a school we value the thoughts, ideas and opinions of all our children and the School Council is one way of ensuring the voice of the children is heard and has an impact on the development of the school.


School Council Members for 2015-2016

Chair - Teigan Paterson

Vice Chair - Luke Oldham

Gracie James

Matthew Edmunds

Joel Rogers

Jasmine Darfour

Alice James

Elliott McMahon

Erin Franks

Jack Hutchinson


The members of the school council were  elected by their classes and meet every half term. These children then have an extremely important job to do:

  • They are responsible for the ongoing process of collecting the thoughts, ideas and opinions of the children in their class and reporting back to the Council.
  • They bring new ideas forward for how we can improve our school and local environment.
  • Once they have identified a priority, they lead the initiative to enhance what we do as a school. For example, the School Council are currently interested in developing the outside play area and suggested having resources such as a writing tray outside and signs such as our times tables and number bonds to help us remember them!  

We look forward to another exciting and successful year with the ideas and suggestions from our councillors as they continue to support improvements in our school.